For more information about our services or how to place a child in our care.

Home | Programs | Secure Detention | Education

Education

While your child is detained at SVJC, he/she will receive educational services from certified teachers employed by Staunton City Schools. We work with the student’s home school to provide the resources and instruction needed to provide continuity in your child’s education. 

  
You can always reach us by phone or email. However, we will be available to talk with you, personally, on Wednesday  or Sunday evenings from 6:45pm – 7:45pm, during the academic year. We will stay after visitation if you need additional time to talk about your child’s educational needs. An educational representative will be in the reception area on Wednesday or Sunday of any given week, starting September 7, with the exception of the following dates:
 
 
November 23, 2016
December 21 and 28, 2016
January 4, 2017
March 29, 2017
April 5, 2017
 

 

Education Contact List

Education Fax Number: 540-213-0256 

 

School Principal: Theresa Davis, tdavis@staunton.k12.va.us
School Administrative Assistant: Judy Huffer, jhuffer@staunton.k12.va.us
Special Education: 
Daniel Woodard, dwoodard@staunton.k12.va.us

Math: Jamie Gerome, jgerome@staunton.k12.va.us
ELL: Kristin Zimmer, kzimmer@staunton.k12.va.us

Health and PE: Greg Campbell, gcampbell@staunton.k12.va.us

ELL: Pricilla Leos, pleos@staunton.k12.va.us

Bilingual Instructional Assistant, Alicia Harman, aharman@staunton.k12.va.us

Alternative Education: Mary Ann Plogger, mplogger@staunton.k12.va.us

ELL: Carol Quintero, cquinter@staunton.k12.va.us
Social Studies/History: Tim Copeland, tcopeland@staunton.k12.va.us
Art Therapist: Michal Emmert-Hart, mehart@staunton.k12.va.us

Bilingual Instructional Assistant: Alan Kllingsworth, akilling@staunton.k12.va.us

Bilingual Instructional Assistant: Orlando Quintero, oquinter@staunton.k12.va.us

Science: Mark Rowicki, mrowicki@staunton.k12.va.us

English: Leslie Schallock, lschallo@staunton.k12.va.us